Primal Scream, Oasis & LCD Soundsystem Cover NEU!


Oasis, Primal Scream, Kasabian, Foals, Sonic Youth and LCD Soundsystem are among bands who have covered tracks by influential 70s Krautrockers NEU! for a new compilation.

NEU! were Klaus Dinger and Michael Rother, early members of Kraftwerk in the early 70s before splitting to do their own thing. They produced three albums together before drifting apart in the mid-70s.

“NEU! are my new favourite German band of all time, proper tour bus music,” said Noel Gallagher from Oasis. “Spiritual.”

A whole raft of musicians have been influenced by the 70s Krautrock/electronic pioneers. Their repetitive ‘Motorik’ machine sound and the sneering proto-punk of ‘Hero‘ were hugely influential on many bands who followed.

In the late 70s it was David Bowie and Brian Eno who championed NEU!’s sound, while everybody from Bono to Damon Albarn to Radiohead have acknowledged a debt to the German innovators.

Despite this patronge, NEU! still remain relatively unknown, although this compilation on Feraltone aims to change all that.

“I hope this album turns more people onto the music of NEU!” said Primal Scream singer Bobby Gillespie.

He continued: “NEU! influenced me long before I ever heard them. The sound of NEU! is all over Joy Division, check out ‘Unknown Pleasures’ and ‘Closer’ and hear it for yourself.

“Or listen to Kenny Morris’s tribal glam tom-tom drumming of ‘The Scream’-era Siouxsie & The Banshees. Or the searing, screaming one-note guitar riffs of Public Image Ltd’s Keith Levine and The Banshees’ John McKay to hear the NEU! influence on some of the bands/musicians who have meant so much to me and have shaped/influenced the way Primal Scream sound. Around the time of ‘XTRMNTR’ we listened to a lot of NEU! and I guess it shows.”

Brooklyn’s School Of Seven Bells have contributed a new track to the comp, while NEU! guitarist Michael Rother contributes ‘Neutronics 98’. One of NEU! drummer Klaus Dinger’s last recordings before his death last year, ‘Sketch 1_08’ by La Dusseldorf, is also included.

‘Brand NEU!’ is out on Feraltone on 11th May. The full tracklisting is as follows:

Ciccone Youth (Sonic Youth) ‘Two Cool Rock Chicks Listening To Neu!’
Primal Scream ‘Shoot Speed/Kill Light’
Pets With Pets ‘We Only Found This Place’
Oasis ‘I Can See It Now’
Foals ‘Titan Arum’
Cornelius ‘Wataridori’
Holy Fuck ‘Super Inuit’
Kasabian ‘Stuntman’
LCD Soundsystem ‘Watch The Tapes’
School Of Seven Bells ‘Device fuer M’
Fujiya & Miyagi ‘Electro Karaoke’
Hook & The Twin ‘They’ll Get Your Head’
La Duesseldorf ‘Sketch 1_08’
Michael Rother ‘Neutronics 98’


~ by itsstecole on April 14, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: