Oasis’ Noel Gallagher: ‘I’m average at guitar’

Noel says he’s not that great – and Paul Weller agrees.

Noel Gallagher

mmm…how do I play this thing?

Despite inspiring many young people to pick up a guitar, Oasis’ Noel Gallagher has said that when compared to guitar greats such as Johnny Marr and Paul Weller he is “average” at playing the instrument.

The star made the comments in an interview with Total Guitar magazine – with Weller adding that he agreed with the statement. Speaking of his ability, Gallagher said: “It facilitates what I do in Oasis, know what I mean?

“I’m unfortunate enough that two of my best mates are Johnny Marr of The Smiths and Paul Weller. Those two are virtuosos to me, although neither of them would admit it. On the electric guitar they’re it. So if you’re asking me how do I compare to those two – and I like to compare myself to the greats – I’m average at f****ng best.”

Responding to the comments, Weller said, “Bless him, but his playing is rudimentary. But Noel doesn’t pretend to be a guitar god.

“He’s very good at putting chords together and he’s got a distinctive style in terms of his chord sequences and his rhythm playing. It’s recognisable, I suppose.”

What do you think? Do you agree that Noel is not a great player? Post your views on the Music Planet forum!

For more info:

Oasis Artist Page at Dolphin (check which gear Noel uses is available to buy!)

Complete Noel Gallagher Gear Guide

~ by dolphinblog on January 27, 2009.

4 Responses to “Oasis’ Noel Gallagher: ‘I’m average at guitar’”

  1. For what it’s worth, I think Noel’s quite an exceptional guitarist. But I understand why he’d say that.

  2. Noel is amazing. He is a great guitarist, vocalist and song writter. ‘God’.

  3. I wouldn’t say Paul Weller is a fantastic guitar player, certainly no better than Noel – Like Noel, they are both great songwriters so I find Wellers’ comments abit, rich? makes Noel out to be a below average player, which he is not.

  4. It’s a meaningless comment from both of them; I would venture false modesty from Noel actually. I grew up listening to the Jam and others and Weller is no better than Noel. Was John Lenon or Mac guitar gods? No they were not, but they could knock a tune together better than just about anybody else – so what does being a guitar god mean at the end of the day?

    There are zillions of technically incredible guitarists out there who can’t write a song or sing to save themselves – guitars are a vehicle for songs – no self pleasuring.

Leave a Reply

 
